Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » SpecMiata.com » Spec Miata » Add a supercharger to a 1.6 SM, what class

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: Add a supercharger to a 1.6 SM, what class
Reggie Verified Driver

Region: Delta
Car #: 77
Year : 1990
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Reggie     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

in SCCA/NASA would the spec Miata run in, assuming Jackson Racing s/c without innercooler, but adding header? Thanks!

Jack Raymond Verified Driver Made Donation to Website

Region: WDC
Car #: 5
Year : 1992
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Jack Raymond   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

I doubt that there is a category, but I'm not a rules expert. SCCA IT (Improved Touring) specifically prohibits super-charging and turbo-charging. SCCA Super-Touring is for old World Challenge cars. SCCA GT (Grand Touring) specifically prohibits super-charging and turbo-charging. SCCA T3 (Touring) does allow the 2004-2005 Mazdaspeed Miata and makes specific reference to "31mm turbo inlet restrictor is required", but they probably wouldn't allow your Jackson Racing supercharger.

I don't know about NASA (look for a rules book on their web site) but their rules are usually similar to SCCA's.

Good luck!

d mathias Verified Driver Made Donation to Website

Region: OVR
Car #: 88
Year : 1991
Icon 1 posted  Profile for d mathias     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

I believe in the SCCA there are catch-all classes - SPU or SPO (depending on engine displacement).

I'm purty shur NASA has something similar, SU/SO?

jwarren Verified Driver

Region: NNJ
Car #: 51
Year : 1991
Icon 1 posted  Profile for jwarren   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

ITE?

--------------------
Ridgespeed Racing

#51 J. Andrew Warren