Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » Sports Car Club of America » SCCA San Francisco Region » New to area - Where to store a race car?

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: New to area - Where to store a race car?
Alberto M Goncalves

Region: SFR
Year : 1990
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Alberto M Goncalves     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Hi.

So I'm fairly new to the Bay Area. The wife and I are renting a townhouse in Mountain View. No room to keep a race car here.

Where do you guys store your race cars? Assuming you don't own acres of land and have 15 car garages. [Smile]

Thanks.

Alberto M Goncalves

Icon 1 posted  Profile for Alberto M Goncalves     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Also, do you guys ever hang out off season? Meet up for drinks or that sort of thing?

Paul Mitalas Verified Driver Made Donation to Website
"Safety Second"

Car #: 61
Year : 1992
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Paul Mitalas     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Alberto,
I've heard of all kinds of solutions. Some folks rent out someones garage, others get together and rent some commercial space to store and work on their cars. Some use hangers. I keep mine in a trailer that I store in an RV parking lot. Welcome to the Bay Area.

Juan Pineda Verified Driver Made Donation to Website
Veteran Member

Region: San Francisco
Car #: 34
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Juan Pineda   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

quote:
Originally posted by Paul Mitalas:
I keep mine in a trailer that I store in an RV parking lot.

That's exactly how I started. I live in SF, and had no place for the car. So I bought an enclosed trailer which I kept at an RV lot. As the years progressed, I hooked up with friends and we rented a warehouse space.

Welcome!

-Juan

--------------------