Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » SpecMiata.com » Spec Miata Frequently Asked Questions » New to SM, Where to begin?

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: New to SM, Where to begin?
moboost4u

Icon 1 posted  Profile for moboost4u     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Hey guys, hope this is posted in the right spot but here it goes.

Im really getting hooked on sm racing and want to get into it. I have a lower budet compared to what I see some of you guys spending as I am a full time student, but after doing some research, I do have enough funding to get a starter car and make it out to a few races a year.

I am not a member of SCCA or NASA yet, but I have taken part in a few independent DE's in the last few years in my STi, and do know the fundamentals of getting around a road course.

So my question is where do I start?

My plan is to buy or build my sm and enter in as many hpde's as I can in the next half year and then maybe look into some NASA or SCCA events by mid summer next year.

Will that give me enough time to get a respective licence for those associations and will I be ready to compete by then?

Please feel free to chime in if my intentions are vauge and need further description.

Thanks guys

wheel Verified Driver Made Donation to Website

Region: kc
Car #: 20
Year : 92
Icon 1 posted  Profile for wheel     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator