Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » SpecMiata.com » Spec Miata Safety » Head restraint systems (Page 1)

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic
Page 1 of 2 1  2  next » 

Author Topic: Head restraint systems
cintibob

Region: cfr
Car #: 13
Year : 1990
Icon 1 posted  Profile for cintibob     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

The SCCA is trying to require head restraint systems in 2012. There are 8 systems that are FIA approved and several are quite expensive. I have tried two of them and hate how they feel and it seems like another annoyance to try to get used to plus more money to spend just for the prevledge to sit in the car. I have been racing for 25 years and this is the first rule that burns my grits, I just don't like being told to purchase safety equip. that is so awkward and uncomfortable. There are so many other things that could improve safety that could be required before this thats cheaper and less intrusive. I know NASA already has this rule and I have no problem if someone wears one for their safety or own sense of well being. Tell me if you feel you should be forced to purchase a Hans,Defender type device or allowed to wear one of your own accord. I am interested in how you feel.

Gatoratty Verified Driver Made Donation to Website

Region: Central Florida
Car #: 3
Year : 1992
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Gatoratty     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator