Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » SpecMiata.com » Spec Miata Setup Guide » Strange set up?

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: Strange set up?
Franckg Verified Driver

Region: SowDiv - Lone Star
Car #: 60
Year : 99
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Franckg     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

I am a SM newbie and am just starting to dabble with suspension setting. The person that sold me the car (also offers track support etc...) included a "professional set up" in the deal with corner weighting etc.. he told me that he had set up the car to be forgiving (or slow). Before I call him up and question the set up and handling I wanted to run these numbers by the list.

These are approx measurements since I don't have my Camber/ Caster gauge yet.

Ride height - from the pinch welds
Rear 4.35" (!?)
Front 4.5"

Front Toe out 5/32" (total)
Rear Toe 3/32" (total)

Rear Camber 3.6 degrees
Front 3 degrees

No Caster or Cross measurement available

Front Sway - hardest
Rear Sway - middle

The car understeered big time and would bounce off the suspension bump.

I have a DE event this Friday and don't have the time to dramatically change the set up (which I plan using the SM guide after this week-end), what can I do in the interim in terms of simple changes... Toe, ride height?

Also, is the setup way out there that would justify a redo. I am trying to maintain a positive relationship with this guy as he still owes some parts but I am starting to wonder if he actually did anything or just eyeballed it...
TIA
Franck

Gibscreen Verified Driver Series Champ

Region: NASA-SoCal
Car #: 23
Year : 1995
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Gibscreen   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator