Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » SpecMiata.com » Spec Miata Setup Guide » UNDERSTEER

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: UNDERSTEER
Mike888 Verified Driver Made Donation to Website

Region: NJ
Car #: 12
Year : 1997
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Mike888   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

I was at the Glen 2 weeks ago and my car has a tremendous amount of understeer. I tightened up the rear sway bar to full tight which helped but the problem still exists. I am at "0" toe front and rear. 5 on caster, and -2 camber on the front(all I can get get) and -2.5 camber on the rear. tire pressure hot 38lbs. Can anyone give me some advise how to loosen up the car. I am new to racing and any help would be appreciated. Is it my driving or are there other things I can do to the car to help. I have read about changing the toe in the front and rear, but not sure it this will help. Thanks

tony senese Verified Driver
Phew, that was close!

Car #: 99
Year : 1994
Icon 1 posted  Profile for tony senese   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

What turns was it worse in? Was it hopping or just hard to get to turn in? how early were you turning in. Sometimes you need to adjust front and rear tire pressures to get the rear end to loosen up a bit. (higher rear pressure)

Extra toe will help turn in a little, but at a track like the Glen you need all the straight line speed you can muster to get fast laps. Toe will slow you down.

--------------------
Tony Senese
SM#99
2008 NASA-NE SM Champion
NASA-NE SM Director
2008 PRO-IT SM 3rd place
http://www.nosenseyet.com/coppermine

Icon 1 posted  Profile for Mike888   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator