Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » SpecMiata.com » Spec Miata Setup Guide » Oversteer

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: Oversteer
Motor City Hamilton

Region: Great Lakes/Detroit
Car #: 51
Year : 1994 Miata
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Motor City Hamilton     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Thought I would add a thread for this since I'm having the opposite problem to the Understeer guy.

I am not new to racing, just new to the SM - 1st year. My car doesn't push anywhere. I'm pretty close to the JD set up guide - flat surface & scaled. The car is a little agressive for me as I'm making the switch from front drive Honda to rear drive Miata. I'm a little behind the car, so I want to make it a little more stable - less aggressive. I can always go back to aggressive once I catch up with the corner speeds.

I have lots of experience with race car suspension set ups, but NO experience with running on the bump stops. One change at a time, I was thinking about adding some rear toe in (at 1/16" now), then maybe soften the rear bar (in middle hole now), then maybe tire pressures (colds now front 33 and rear 32).

After reading the understeer thread, I'm thinking that I have a bump stop issue. I'm at 4 5/8" all the way around. I think my first change should be a slight raise of the rear?

Some evidence of the symptoms. I race at Waterford Hills, MI and Mid Ohio. Last weekend at Mid Ohio same symptoms in left turn 1, left kink up the hill to the carosel, right turn in 7? end of the back straight, right turn 12? entry to thunder valley and left turn 13 after thunder valley. The car gets really loose after turn in through mid corner. On the other hand, the car seems pretty neutral - almost perfect in all the lower speed tight stuff.