Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » Spec Miata Archives » Spec Miata 2001-2009 » new to spec miata

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: new to spec miata
racinry91

Icon 1 posted  Profile for racinry91     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Ive been racing shifter karts for 4 years now and we intend on making the jump to a Miata.

How much a weekend do you guys on average?

I am trying to figure how much more (if anymore) we will be spending in the car other than a kart

Mark de Regt Verified Driver Made Donation to Website
Veteran Member

Region: NWR/Oregon; ICSCC
Car #: 70
Year : 1991
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Mark de Regt   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Not including the car, and not including major expenses which crop up from time to time (e.g., crash damage), I very roughly guess that it costs me about $1000 per race weekend. I usually enter two classes (SM and ITA).

There's no science, and very little rigor to my method, but I don't think it's far wrong.

Jim Daniels

Icon 1 posted    Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

After equipment many karters say it is less. Have fun budget is not much more than travel and entry fees with a set of tires and brakes every few weekends.

B(Kuch) Kucera 45 Verified Driver
Veteran Member

Region: NeOh
Car #: 45
Icon 1 posted  Profile for B(Kuch) Kucera 45   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

I don't have the kind of money some of these guy's have so I average about $450.to $500. a weekend.That's if your hitting local tracks,if you travel it will easily be $1,000 to $1,500 a weekend.