Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » Spec Miata Archives » Spec Miata 2001-2009 » SM storage & the family effect

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: SM storage & the family effect
webby459

Icon 1 posted  Profile for webby459     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Noob here! I have a couple of questions that I hope some of the experienced members here can shed some light on.

The first is, where do most of you store your SM? I have my own home in suburbia, 2 car garage. The wife's minivan occupies one side, her street miata occupies the other side, and the rest of the space holds the kiddie pool, bikes, wagons, empty beer bottles, etc. I just don't like the idea of a race car sitting outside in the rain and snow all year: I've seen what that can do to brake and other important moving parts in a car. I've thought of an enclosed trailer as an option. I'm frankly leaning toward doing a rental to begin, then an arrive and drive after I'm convinced that this hobby is one I'll stick with. Any input on storage, and storage vs arrive and drive would be appreciated.

Next question, how many weekends do most of you do per year? I have 2 year old twins, and another child well on it's way, and I simply don't think I'll have the time or family cooperation to do more than a few weekends a year. Week days are substantially easier, and I plan on doing some hpde to fill in my driving sched.

Members on here with a really young flock such as mine: do you bring the little ones to the track with you? How does that work out? My wife and I used to spectate many nascar and F1 events, as well as lots of the local SCCA events, so she is not averse to racing in general. I just can't imagine how it would be for us as a family to have her chasing the kids around the paddock while I'm hot lapping.

Thanks again for the input.

Webb