Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » Spec Miata Archives » Spec Miata 2001-2009 » Electric Spec Miata....anyone interested?

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: Electric Spec Miata....anyone interested?
Aaron Bailey

Region: SFR/Cal Club
Car #: 15
Year : 1990
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Aaron Bailey   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Hey everyone,
I am a senior Mechanical Engineering student at Cal Poly State University in San Luis Obispo, CA. We are developing an in wheel electric motor for our senior project. We just wanted to take a poll and see how many people would be interested in racing an electric Spec Miata. (ESM) This motor would be able to last approximately 3 seasons without any sort of maintenance if not longer. This is just a concept but we would like to get some feedback.

The motor would mount up to the existing spec miata suspension including A-arms, shocks, steering, etc. All you would have to do is buy this motor kit and bolt it on. The power would be as much if not more than a good spec miata is currently and the batteries would be good enough to not lose power over the course of a race. The weight would be lighter total than the drive system you would be removing. With this in mind please give me the following feedback:

Would you be interested?
How much would you pay per motor?
What other qualities would you like to see?

Thanks for your input!

--------------------
Aaron Bailey
#15 Spec Miata
http://www.aaronbaileyracing.com

seege Verified Driver Made Donation to Website

Region: NASA So Cal
Year : Thinking on that.... ok done 99
Icon 1 posted  Profile for seege     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

I understand you're just trying to gauge interest at this point. My first concern would be keeping the batteries away from the driver.