Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » Spec Miata Archives » Garage 2002-2009 » Mazdaspeed Hartdtop Bracket Kit

 - Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: Mazdaspeed Hartdtop Bracket Kit
MiataRacer31 Verified Driver
Racing Junkie

Region: Steel Cities
Car #: 31
Year : 1992
Posts: 427
Status: Offline
Icon 1 posted  Profile for MiataRacer31   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Hello All,

I recently received the Mazdaspeed bracket kit for securing the hardtop (0000-04-5997) and am a little confused on how to mount the rear brackets. They don't seem to fit no matter how I configure them. Can somebody who has these installed please take a picture? It would much appreciated as I am dropping off the car to get a custom cage put in tonight!

--------------------
Dale
http://users.zoominternet.net/~blacktopracing

MiataRacer31 Verified Driver
Racing Junkie

Region: Steel Cities
Car #: 31
Year : 1992
Posts: 427
Status: Offline
Icon 1 posted  Profile for MiataRacer31   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Amybody? Please? I need to secure the hardtop by 6:00 this evening to take to the cage builder and I can't make them work, at least not fit right. I could really use a picture. Tim? How about it buddy? You sold them to me [Smile]

--------------------
Dale
http://users.zoominternet.net/~blacktopracing

RYGAR Verified Driver Made Donation to Website
"The Unethical"

Region: San Francisco
Car #: 29
Year : 1991
Posts: 550
Status: Offline
Icon 1 posted  Profile for RYGAR     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

I don't have my car here at work, but they go in the same place where the stocks rear mounts went...I have that same kit and they fit...sorry not much help. I wouldn't be able to get you a picture until the weekend.

This may be a stupid question, but wouldn't it be easier for your cage builder to build the cage without the top bolted in place? My cage builder built the cage without the top secured. He had the top available for fitting purposes but it wasn't bolted on as he did the work...

--------------------
Ryan G. #29
http://www.RentMoneyRacing.com

TimBuck Verified Driver Made Donation to Website
I'll believe it when I believe it.

Region: CalClub
Car #: 44
Year : 1992
Posts: 1364
Status: Offline
Icon 1 posted  Profile for TimBuck   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Call me

--------------------
Tim Buck

MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development
Mazda North American Operations
phone (800) 435-2508
fax (949) 222-2650

zoom-zoom!

MiataRacer31 Verified Driver
Racing Junkie

Region: Steel Cities
Car #: 31
Year : 1992
Posts: 427
Status: Offline
Icon 1 posted  Profile for MiataRacer31   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

quote:
This may be a stupid question, but wouldn't it be easier for your cage builder to build the cage without the top bolted in place? My cage builder built the cage without the top secured. He had the top available for fitting purposes but it wasn't bolted on as he did the work.
I'm driving it to the cage builder.

--------------------
Dale
http://users.zoominternet.net/~blacktopracing

RYGAR Verified Driver Made Donation to Website
"The Unethical"

Region: San Francisco
Car #: 29
Year : 1991
Posts: 550
Status: Offline
Icon 1 posted  Profile for RYGAR     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

quote:
I'm driving it to the cage builder.

I'm assuming you no longer have the stock mounts then? hmmm... if you're not hitting the highway maybe you can rope/strap it down to something in the car... or get some neighborhood kids and pile em on the roof and tell em' to hang on! [Big Grin]

--------------------
Ryan G. #29
http://www.RentMoneyRacing.com

Gibscreen Verified Driver Series Champ
Member

Region: NASA-SoCal
Car #: 23
Year : 1995
Posts: 912
Status: Offline
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Gibscreen   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Well by the "rear" brackets" I assume you mean the side ones. The rear of the top just goes on the stock frankenstein bolts.

As for the side ones, they have two different size bolt holes, so you know which way is up. The only question is which side. I had a little trouble with this myself. Mine only fit into the rear holes on the hardtop. And from there on the top, the small angle in the bracket should cause the bracket to angle slightly toward the outside of the car.

I took a pic of the side bracket on my passenger side (I couldn't get one from the driver side cause my seat's a tight fit). This is looking toward the rear of the car.

http://picasaweb.google.com/regibson/HardtopBracket/photo#5063072577356827330

At least I hope this is the right way. [Smile] Tim? Either way, it works.

[ 05-10-2007, 06:08 PM: Message edited by: Gibscreen ]

--------------------
Rob Gibson
RJ Racing
2010 NASA Nationals TTE Champion
2008/2009 WERC Champion
2007 NASA SoCal SM Champion
rjracing.net
Weekend-Racer.com

TrackRat951
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Status: Offline
Icon 1 posted  Profile for TrackRat951     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Rob,
I'm not seeing a picture. Can anyone else provide some more detail? I'm in the process of trying to install my brackets, and they definitely aren't lining up right.

-Jon

Gibscreen Verified Driver Series Champ
Member

Region: NASA-SoCal
Car #: 23
Year : 1995
Posts: 912
Status: Offline
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Gibscreen   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

http://picasaweb.google.com/regibson/HardtopBracket/photo#5063072577356827330

There ya go. Couldn't figure out how to post the image. Put in a link instead.

For the install, there's really only 2 ways it can go since the bolt holes are 2 diff sizes. Put it on the way that fits better, then crank it down. Everything will probably fit into place once it's tightened. That's what happened with mine. Just don't tighten so much that you crack the fiberglass of the HT though--that's when you know you have it on the wrong side.

--------------------
Rob Gibson
RJ Racing
2010 NASA Nationals TTE Champion
2008/2009 WERC Champion
2007 NASA SoCal SM Champion
rjracing.net
Weekend-Racer.com

MiataRacer31 Verified Driver
Racing Junkie

Region: Steel Cities
Car #: 31
Year : 1992
Posts: 427
Status: Offline
Icon 1 posted  Profile for MiataRacer31   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

I just saw this thread become active again. In looking at the picture link above, it appears Rob has his on wrong. Technically one rear (side) Mazdaspeed bracket can go on four ways since yo can reverse it and there are two top hoes. The lines that form the bend should be horizontal. There is less to twist and torque down that way. But I guess, whatever way works, right?

http://users.zoominternet.net/~blacktopracing/images/Products/MS_HT_Bracket1.JPG

http://users.zoominternet.net/~blacktopracing/images/Products/MS_HT_Bracket2.JPG

--------------------
Dale
http://users.zoominternet.net/~blacktopracing

Gibscreen Verified Driver Series Champ
Member

Region: NASA-SoCal
Car #: 23
Year : 1995
Posts: 912
Status: Offline
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Gibscreen   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Yours does look nicer. When I tried to put it on that way, it seemed like it would torque it more than my way cause it wasn't even close to matching up. Maybe I'll pull it off and retry it. But man it was a bitch to get the bolts in in the first place (my cage is directly in line with the bolts.)

--------------------
Rob Gibson
RJ Racing
2010 NASA Nationals TTE Champion
2008/2009 WERC Champion
2007 NASA SoCal SM Champion
rjracing.net
Weekend-Racer.com

   

   Close Topic   Feature Topic   Move Topic   Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic | Subscribe To Topic
Hop To: