Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » SpecMiata.com » Spec Miata Rules & Competition » New to the SM field and building one... need guidance

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: New to the SM field and building one... need guidance
Mike Kelly

Icon 1 posted  Profile for Mike Kelly     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Hi, I'm Mike and I'm a car-aholic. My sons and I have three miatas, and one of those is a track specific car that we're planning to convert to spec miata standards in order to race in an endurance series in 2010 or 2011, depending on how the money goes and how well the 2010 HPDE education for the boys goes.

A little back ground:
Both sons are in their early 20s and one has spent a weekend in HPDE. I am an instructor with a couple of clubs and plan to get them both to a number of events in spring. I want to get their feet wet and then get them into a licensing program by late summer or early fall. I'll also need to get myself thru the licensing program for which ever series we decide to run in, and with whichever club.

The car is a 1992 car that a co-worker built for HPDE, but did not do a good job building. The car has a 4 point bar (harddog hardcore) and Kirkey seats with 6 point harnesses (need to check the date on them) Along with a Sparco removable steering wheel.

The guy spent good money on GC coil overs and Koni adjustable shocks, along with some aftermarket swaybars and adjustable end links. With the amount of money spent on the car from the receipts, I have no clue why he didn't just build an SM, but he didn't. We'll weld in a rollcage from one of the vendors and then over the spring buy and install the suspension kit.

I'll do as much research as possible and use the SEARCH button, but what would you guys recommend based on what I've posted so far?