Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » SpecMiata.com » Showroom Spec Miata » SSM in Regions

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: SSM in Regions
B Boutz

Region: Rocky Mountain
Year : 1992
Icon 1 posted  Profile for B Boutz     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

My impression is that SSM is not run in every region. On the rocky mountain site I could not find any info on SSM. That would be too bad, I am totaly for it since I'm in the process of building and will be able to have the whole fall/winter to do it right. Plus I'm a newbie and SSM seems to be perfect for my situation (doing all my own work). Any thoughts or info on if this class will be around for a while?

Thanks, Brian

Serge Verified Driver Made Donation to Website Series Champ

Region: New England
Car #: 3
Year : 1990
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Serge     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

SSM was started in the N/E Division around the time that SM went national. The intend was to recreate the original low cost, simple and equally prepped cars that the SM founders started back in 1999.
SSM is still striving strongly in the N/E, especially in the Washington, DC Region thanks to strong no nonsense leadership.
I know that a number of Regions outside of the N/E have shown an interest in SSM, I would check with your Div./Regional leadership whether they would accept the class, even on a trial basis. You canít ask for a better entry level vehicle than the Miata, especially in SSM trim.
Good Luck,

--------------------
Serge Lentz
Belgo-Am Racing
FP Miata #3
SM/SSM Retired

Jack Raymond Verified Driver Made Donation to Website

Region: WDC
Car #: 5
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Jack Raymond   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

quote:
Originally posted by Serge: