Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » SpecMiata.com » Pro Miata » Lookint to join in 2011...

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: Lookint to join in 2011...
Simon Tibbett

Region: ATL
Year : 1990
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Simon Tibbett     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

I'm looking to join you all in 2011 and have a few questions.

I am 99.8% sure I want to buy a car to run or rent one, anyone for some reason think otherwise? [Razz]

What are the benefits with the series and what are some downsides? I love how it's ran on major race weekends which is a plus for the potential sponsors I am speaking to.

What does a usual weekend rental cost, is it cheaper to sign/pay for a whole year?

Does anyone have a car I could rent for a track day to get a feel for the car sometime early winter? I have lots of Miata experience but not any MX-5 Cup car experience.

Simon Tibbett

Icon 1 posted  Profile for Simon Tibbett     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Should say Looking...not lookint. lol

Danny Steyn Verified Driver

Region: SE
Car #: 39
Year : 1999
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Danny Steyn   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Welcome Simon

do not let the BS on these forums discourage you. These forums are the venting of the few. The vast amjority of SM drivers are EXSTATIC about their class, but you would not realize that from the whining that goes on in this forum.

I started two years ago like you. I rented a car from Tom Fowler at OPM Autosports in Atlanta. I was immediately hooked. I rented a few more times, and I realized that I was completely committed to the class, and had Tom build me a car. (he has built two for me to date).