Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » Sports Car Club of America » SCCA North-East » Newbie here... Intro and Questions.

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: Newbie here... Intro and Questions.
Shane Smith

Icon 1 posted  Profile for Shane Smith     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Well I guess I should introduce myself first. My name is Shane Smith. I am from Long Island. My racing expierince is limited to Go Karts throughout the region from 1985-1993.

I attended a HPDE event a few weeks ago at the Monticello Motor club. I rented a Miata in order to get an idea of how well Spec Miata would suit me. I prefer highly competitive, close clean racing, that is focused on drivers skill. Go karts were a blast. We were all friends off the track and respected each other on the track. So as of now I am pursuing entering the Spec Miata world.

My next step is to attend a regional race to check things out and see how the event is run and how the competition treat each other. It looks like I will either be attending either NHMS on Sept 11-12th or Limerock on Oct 1-2nd.

By then I will have started the process of attaining the novice permit and scheduling the school, physical, and etc. But my 2nd step will most likely be to find a shop to help me along with car purchase and setup. Flatout motor sports was recommended. I contacted them and they sounded great. I plan on tracking them down at the race I attend.

I have a lot more thoughts but in the efforts to keep this to an intro and get general feedback I will keep it short. Any hellos, ideas, thoughts, advice, dirty jokes, unwelcome signs, anything will be appreciated. I look forward to get racing again.

Shane Smith

--------------------
Team Dumb and Dumber
Researching Spec Miata racing. Want to get into it. Need to find a car and a shop to get me set up.

TR6