Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » SpecMiata.com » Spec Miata Garage » Buy existing or build my 2002? (Page 1)

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic
Page 1 of 2 1  2  next » 

Author Topic: Buy existing or build my 2002?
Hqen2000

Region: Southwest (California)
Year : 1993
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Hqen2000     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

I'm trying to figure out if it's going to be better to build up the 2002 Miata I have, or to just buy an existing one. I have around $10,000 to spend.

I was initially thinking I'd just build mine but I'm looking and it seems I can just buy one for around the same cost as it'll be to build my 02 as a spec. Then I'll still be able to sell my 02 for additional monies.

My 2002 is bone stock, and I'm located in Southern California.

I'm not a mechanic, but I can do mechanical things to a certain point. I wouldn't install or weld up a cage myself, but doing things like brakes, hubs, etc I'm fine with. I'm really struggling with this trying to figure out what's the better option but I have no idea.

--------------------
1993 Spec Miata #94

Hqen2000

Icon 1 posted  Profile for Hqen2000     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

I'm not sure how it plays into this buy I'm 6'2" 215lbs. I don't fit in the 02' very well really. I can drive it around but I can't really do much past that. I've heard the interior in the older ones is larger (or at least longer), which sounds good. If I'll have a hard time fitting in the 02 with a cage and a racing seat then I'd rather go with something I can actually use.

--------------------
1993 Spec Miata #94

Keith in WA Verified Driver Made Donation to Website
Pack Fodder

Region: NWR / Oregon
Car #: 88
Year : 95
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Keith in WA     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator