Spec Miata Community   
search | help | calendar | games | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello Spec Miata Community » Sports Car Club of America » SCCA San Francisco Region » SSM discussion thread

- Email this page to someone! | Subscribe To Topic  
Author Topic: SSM discussion thread
Doug Makishima

Region: SFR
Car #: 80
Year : '91 SSM & '87 E30 BMW 325 - ITS
Icon 1 posted  Profile for Doug Makishima   Author's Homepage     Edit/Delete Post  Report this post to a Moderator

Recap of my posts from the original thread:

Original thread here: http://forum.specmiata.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?/topic/26/1013/2.html

As a new SSM driver, I agree there is room for improvement in the sealing process and in compliance. I, for one, would be up for sealing the motor and entire drive train! How about using a reference intake and exhaust for the sealing dyno testing?

FWIW, they did pull two cars after the 1st race at the Thill opener race (mine was one of them), and took them straight to the MCE dyno for compliance testing. Both passed. At Laguna, they checked fuel in the top SSMs.

[added]: I forgot to mention that there was an SCCA tech steward monitoring the entire redyno procedure.

===========

Kevin at MCE told me he seals it at a target of 113.5HP. If the motor in the car is not capable of making that much HP, I do not know what happens.

BTW, I have a dyno sheet of my car from before the sealing, from a different shop. I also have the sheet that Kevin from MCE did just before he sealed it. Both sheets are within .5HP, and are below 120HP. I'd be happy to show them to you if you want. Obviously, I don't have any data from after the sealing process (which I agree is strange). Heck, if you want to dyno my car, I'll
consider that as well.

===========

MCE's Sealing procedure does include replacing the spark plugs. He also tests the fuel. Also, there is a torque spec, but I don't remember what it is.